november, 2020

fri20nov11:00 amfri12:15 pmIONS - Edgar Mitchell Overview Effect Virtual Reality Experience (EMVRX) - Nov 20thCommunity Launch!11:00 am - 12:15 pm

Event Details

11am PST, 2pm EST, 7pm GMT

Inspired by Captain Mitchell’s epiphany in space, the phrase “Overview Effect” signifies the awe and self-transcendent feelings of Oneness that many astronauts experience upon seeing Earth from space. Join us as we hear from members of the VRX project team about bringing Edgar’s legacy to life through this short space VR production, and about it’s promise and potential as a tool to evoke an Overview Effect — feelings of profound connection, compassion and self-transcendence — even while Earthbound.

Join us for the following additional opportunities adjacent to the main program.

Before the program starts:
Five minutes before our program begins (at 10:55), we’ll show a 5-minute animated video depicting a Saturn V rocket (Apollo 11) from launch to splashdown, explaining the sequence of events leading to the lunar module landing on the moon and reuniting with the command and service modules.

At the program’s conclusion:
You’re invited to join us in an open community Overview Meditation with EvolVR’s Dr. Jeremy Nickel in Altspace after the main program. EvolVR is described as the world’s first virtual reality sangha. Our avatars will begin on Earth’s surface (video) and rise to low Earth orbit during a guided meditation. If you have a virtual reality headset, click here for set-up directions; or, if you have a PC, you can join us in a 2D format.

Time

(Friday) 11:00 am - 12:15 pm PST

X
X